Animatsuri 2015

We went to Animatsuri in Tartu, the only anime/manga convention we have in Estonia. I have been there only once before, but that time I was at our school’s booth, handing out flyers and telling people about learning about different Asian cultures and languages. I think I preferred the booth option a bit more, even though I didn’t get to go to any of the lectures or take part of any of the workshops. I still saw a lot of cool cosplay and got to socialize with different people. Also we were there for the entire two days.

This time I didn’t get to go to any of the lectures either, because we slept in and then boyfriend had to get some work done, so by the time we got there, the lectures I was interested in were already over. So we did a short tour on the festival grounds, bought some mochi and a cat pillow for a friend of mine, and then since it was super hot and crowded in there, we decided to go somewhere else and get coffee. So it was a short visit. I regret not buying anything from the people in the artist/flea-market corner… but we kind of stormed through that area for some reason.

It was a pity that we stayed for such a short time… I mean I even dressed up for the occasion. But then again, last time I had a purpose to be there, but this time I would probably have gotten bored quickly anyway, as I had no friends who went there and dunno… what do you actually do there the entire day if you are not a hard-core anime/manga fan who has friends around? Perhaps the short visit was actually a good thing.

Also, since my anxiety kicked in due to me being in a public space in a costume, there aren’t really any photos of the convention. Instead, have a photo of me in a Gachapin kigurumi drinking coffee:

 photo gachapin.jpgNot a single person recognized my character, even people at the convention kept calling me a frog or a funny bug 😦

19.09.2015

Leave a Reply

