Cool things I found while wasting time online #9

This is a post of interesting things I’ve found online (and sometimes offline) in one week. These things may include among others: recipes, fandom stuff, interesting articles or artwork.

I was rather busy for the past two week visiting family in Southern Estonia, eating loads of delicious food and roaming the muddy woods. It was amazing. Thus there is only a short list of things for such a long time.

  • I watched this entire playlist of “100 Years of Beauty” in different countries. It was rather fascinating to see how hairstyles and make up changed over the decades in different places. Some countries were especially interesting as I don’t know much of them in the first place.  I also liked that they had making of videos that explained why or how all the looks were chosen for every decade. Some of my favorites and more interesting ones were the following:

    India 

    Ethiopia

    Syria

  • Why do cats act so strange? This is a cool video explain most of the quirky habits most cats seem to have. For example, why do they like boxes so much?
  • A video explaining colour usage in super hero comics and movies. I wholeheartedly agree to this videos stance that “realistic” doesn’t have to mean muted grey/black colours, because the colourful spandex is iconic and important, it’s what symbolizes these characters and distinguishes them from each other. I don’t want reality from my fantasy anyway, reality is boring and usually really depressing.
  • I like the style of this artist a lot – http://matsuyamamiyabi.tumblr.com/. Especially love their “Adams family in kimono” picture.

Drop me a line or two if you liked or found anything interesting in my choices as well 😀

Leave a Reply

