Warcraft… 8. June 2016

 A soup with glass noodles and wakame

 Boiled mini pelmeni and salad with cottage cheese


Frozen yoghurt and beer

*

We went to see “Warcraft” with my boyfriend and his friends. It turned out to be the premiere of the movie, so there were press photographers snapping photos of people (I probably look like a frightened deer on the photo they took of me, because they caught me in a surprise), a lottery where they gave away copies of World of Warcraft and Overwatch, and a local “famous” youtuber who did a quick introduction to the movie. They also offered everyone free Monster Energy drinks, which was terrible, because these things stink like fuck. Thankfully not many people actually opened them in the movie theatre.

Now, as someone who has never played Warcraft, I quite enjoyed the movie. Sure it wasn’t a perfect movie, but it was beautiful and coherent enough for me to like it. Can’t say I was bored at any moment. The orcs looked awesome and I really liked the world and the fantastic in it. It absolutely doesn’t deserve the crap reviews it has been getting from critics. Critics are ridiculous these days, because it almost feels like it’s fashionable to be uber-negative about absolutely everything.

I was however a bit confused at a couple of instances and it felt to me that some scenes were missing that would have explained a few things. At a couple of times, it felt as if some middle-scenes were cut out, like some scenes between two others that would have… how to explain this? Hmm. Let’s say in the first scene, a guy says he is going to do a thing… then there is a scene missing… and in the next scene he is doing something completely else? What happened in-between the two scenes that changed something? What led from one scene to the other?

I also would have preferred if they had opted for a unified style for the movie. Either made the entire thing with mo-cap and digital or had created the orcs with prosthetics and then tuned everything up a bit digitally. The digital orcs and the actor played humans clashed too much in style.

But eh. I personally enjoyed “Warcraft” a lot more than I did for instance “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” I would watch the former again, given a chance, but probably wouldn’t be bothered with the latter.

Leave a Reply

