Day 7 – Celebrity Crushes

Well this challenge basically failed, as I haven’t been able to post it daily, but that was hardly my fault *shakes fist at Photobucket.* I’ll continue through with it anyway, because I kind of like doing this.

I have been a fangirl at heart as long as I can remember. I obsessed over cartoon characters at a very young age and pretended that my favourite ones were my imaginary friends for years. After that came musicians and actors whose shows I watched religiously and whose pictures I cut out of magazines. At some point I had a huge ensemble of characters and famous people as my imaginary friends :p

Often enough the celebrity has been synonymous to me with the character they play or the stage persona they have. So, most of the time when I have a crush on the actor, it usually starts with falling in love with the character they play. I’ve never really had a favourite actor whose entire filmography I would watch just because I liked them, but I am more prone to considering to watch a movie with them in it when offered a chance I guess.

I think my first ever celebrity crush was David Duchovny (Fox Mulder in “The X Files”). After a couple of seasons of “The X Files” however I completely fell in love with Gillian Anderson (as Dana Scully) and then I was obsessed with both of them for years. I basically grew up watching that show; I cut out every picture and article I could find about these two and I even slept with a pillow that had their names written on either side along “The X Files” logo. Eventually I grew out of liking David Duchovny, but Gillian Anderson is to this day to me one of the most beautiful women I’ve ever seen.

Johnny Depp – I don’t remember from where it started, but I was pretty young and I still quite like the guy. I think Johnny Depp comes to closest to being the one actor whose movies I watch just because he plays in them. Be it Cry-Baby, Ed Wood, Captain Jack Sparrow, Sweeney Todd or The Mad Hatter, I’ve loved them all. Well, except I really didn’t like the Hatter anymore in “Alice Through the Looking Glass” 😦 I was so disappointed at that.

Milla Jovovich – There is this one scene in “The Fifth Element” where her character Leeloo is restored from just a fragment and creepy old dudes next to the restoration pod comment that she is perfect. I wholeheartedly agreed (still agree). She was the epitome of a beautiful woman to me for a long time. I was envious of her small perfect breasts and actually considered a breast reduction to be as beautiful. I’ve always been a tiny breasts girl I guess. I also adored her in “Resident Evil” as Alice, because ohmygod how beautiful and kick-ass that was! I had a vhs tape of the movie and I quite literally watched it to shreds xD

Sigourney Weaver – I think I was maybe 12 when I first saw “Alien” and it was the scariest and at the same time the most beautiful thing I had ever seen. I fell in love with both Ellen Ripley and with the Xenomorphs. I watched all of the Alien movies a crazy amount of times. Basically for a year or so, whenever I was home and had the TV to myself I had one of the movies running :p Ever since that I have been incredibly fond of Sigourney Weaver and I still like her and think she has aged incredibly well.

Kyo from Dir en Grey aka the man who ruined everything. Somewhere in high school our little livejournal group discovered a Japanese visual kei band named Dir en grey. I fell in love with their tiny crazy looking vocalist that sprouted crazy lyrics and screeched his heart out on the stage in a sometimes quite horrifying manner. I still love the band’s music and have a soft spot for their crazy vocalist who these days tends to look like an old Japanese mountain witch xD Why did he ruin everything? Well I don’t think I would ever even have considered learning Japanese if I hadn’t found this band. On the one hand, it was a blessing, because at the time I still had no idea what I wanted to do with my life so it was good to do something, but on the other hand I was now stuck with a major that I felt very uncertain with. Do I regret learning Japanese? No, I don’t. But I have no intention to pursue a career where my major would be in any way useful.

Shibutani Subaru – Somewhere in my university time we switched from Japanese rock/metal to Japanese pop bands. To us it was a whole new world with a new kind of entertainment and personas. Shibutani Subaru is one of the members of an idol group called Kanjani8. I liked him a lot due to his powerful, sometimes wacky sounding, voice, his dark brown almond eyes and his crazy persona. Plus, he had a cute “boyfriend”/best friend too in the band, so that was adorable.

Benedict Cumberbatch – I love his deep voice and his unusual facial features are really appealing to me. Also his portrayal of Sherlock in the BBC series was super fantastic and I can’t wait to see him in “Doctor Strange.”

Robert Downey Jr. – This is my Iron Man. Like hot damn. Have you ever noticed how many different emotions his face can convey without him having to actually say anything? I think that is incredible and I’ve grown so fond of him. It’s not only his portrayal of Tony Stark of course, but also Sherlock Holmes and even the crazy part he played in “Tropic Thunder” xD

Tom Hiddleston – I think he is the main man-crush I have right now. He is just such an incredibly beautiful man and I’ve enjoyed quite a few of his acting roles a lot too. Loki in “Thor” and “The Avengers” of course is my absolute favourite, but I also loved him to bits in “Only Lovers Left Alive” and in “Crimson Peak.” Sometimes when I feel down I just go to tumblr and scroll through his pictures to cheer myself up.

Not much to say about the three last guys, because they are fairly recent developments for me and have not yet made a long-lasting impression. Or maybe they have? I guess I’ll be able to tell in 5 years or so.

This is a list of my main crushes that have stuck around. If I would have listed every famous person/character I have ever had a crush on, well, this would be a very very long post indeed. I tend to crush on so many people all of the time.

2 thoughts on “Day 7 – Celebrity Crushes

Leave a Reply

