Day 9 – Series/shows that you like

I don’t watch random television anymore. I have a TV, but it has no channels attached to it. We mostly use the TV as a big computer screen where we stream movies, anime or some TV series occasionally. I used to watch a lot of series and some television reality and entertainment shows, but as time goes on I tend to watch less and less. If I  watch anything regularly these days it’s probably “The Co-Optional Podcast” every week, but that’s neither a TV series nor a TV show… and most of the times I just listen to it while doing the dishes.

For some reason, I haven’t liked many of the very popular series that everyone seems to be obsessing about. I didn’t like “Breaking Bad” because of the subject matter, “Orange is the New Black,” left me feeling bored. I was super excited about “Hannibal,” but since this show got so hyped up for me on tumblr, I felt disappointed when I finally watched it. I hoped for more fucked up symbolic visons and for it to be more artistic… or something. Over-hype is bad, it can ruin potentially good things for you.

I watched only a couple of episodes of “Game of Thrones” and loved it, but for whatever reason I have no desire to sit down and watch it all. I peek at the screen when my boyfriend watches it and then I go to Wikipedia and read up on what’s happening, because I am so very interested in the story and its outcome. Just not enough to watch the show properly.

What else? I have been thinking about giving “The Walking Dead,” a try, but never actually bothered to do it. I kind of think it would have the over-hype effect for me again as it’s so huge on tumblr. I watched the first season on “Penny Dreadful” and liked it a lot. I *think* I watched the second season or at least some of it, but by then I started losing interest, so I haven’t even peeked at the third season. We also watched the first season of “Hemlock Grove” with my boyfriend and despite us binge watching it and being quite fascinated with the entire mystery, we didn’t pick up the second season. We also watched several seasons of “Elementary,” which was decent with some ups and downs, but I am not sure if we will ever continue watching it or not.

Now a thing, I watched recently and adored, is “Stranger Things.” This was to me the perfect combination of artistic creepiness with amazing characters and an interesting story-line, so I can’t wait for the second season. I also really like the BBC “Sherlock” series, but I feel less passionate about it with every new season. I will however absolutely continue watching it.

There isn’t much anything that I feel excited about or that I particularly want to see. As for other television shows or reality TV, I honestly don’t care about it anymore. Friends have tried to get me into stuff like “RuPaul’s Drag Race,” but it hasn’t worked for me at all.

Some of my all time favourite television series over the years have been “The X Files,” “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine,” “Eureka” (of which I still haven’t watched the very last episode, because I was so upset over the cancellation of the series) and “Twin Peaks.” I have actually been thinking of re-watching “The X Files” AGAIN. I think I have seen this show in its entirety about 4 or 5 times now. Last week I was also thinking that perhaps I should watch all “Stargate: SG-1,” because I never finished that show and I was quite in loved with it at some point.

Anyway, this is what I have been or haven’t been watching. I don’t think I have liked much, but I’ve been told it’s due to my current mental condition. Whether it’s true or not, I have no idea. Anyway, have a witty summary of my favorite ever television series:

If you have a favourite TV series you think I should give a try, let me know in the comments 🙂

3 thoughts on “Day 9 – Series/shows that you like

  1. sunspotmomito says:

    I totally love the summary of “The X Files”. I grew up with this show. Every time after an episode went to bed terrified and was scared to go pee in the night if I woke up..Still loved it tho. I attempted to re-watch it just about a year ago and since my boyfriend (WHO OMGOMG HAS NEVER WATCHED IT) was kinda interested, but then wasn’t, I dropped it too..
    “Stranger Things” is one of the best things I’ve watched in a long time. I need more of it.

    Like

    • annika says:

      Haha, that is so familiar :p I too was dead afraid to go pee at night when I needed to… and especially so if I was at my grandparents house and had to use the outhouse, because I was dead scared the Fluke Man would grab me xD However, these night fears were not enough to stop me from watching it week after week :p

      The last time I re-watched “The X Files,” it was kind of really funny to see the ancient technology they used back then… giant monitors and huge bulky mobile phones xD

      I truly hope that the next season of “Stranger Things” will be as good as the first one was. It has been such a long time since I’ve seen a creepy show like that that I have thoroughly enjoyed the way I did this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

