Mochi disappointment and confusing railway systems… 22-23. Dec 2016

22. December

 Polar bread with butter and ham

 Chicken kimchi stew with some rice

 A tangerine

 We had dinner in Tokumaru in the evening with my boyfriend’s friends and their little baby. I had an avocado-salmon rice bowl that was absolutely delicious.

 Shared these tempura king prawns with the boyfriend.

 Aaaaand the dessert that ruined my mood in a colossal way: matcha and mochi. I was just incredibly disappointed in this. The matcha was good, but the mochi… when I first read that they were offering mochi in their menu, I naturally assumed that it would be mochi made in the restaurant. I was so excited! Finally, a Japanese restaurant is having proper Japanese desserts in their menu! But instead I was offered one of these yucky tasting boxed mochi’s instead D: I don’t think my expectations were unrealistic. I mean, who in their right mind would expect to be served prefabricates that you can buy in a grocery store in a fancy restaurant? I don’t like the way the boxed mochi tastes and I think it’s because of all the additives and preservatives that make it last several years in the box. I felt cheated and the taste of that mochi ruined the aftertaste of all the good things I had eaten before. BAH! I could have gotten an entire box of these crappy things for the money they charged for this too.

 Coffee, peanut butter brownie and cheesecake with raspberries and blueberries

23. December

 Polar bread with ham and oat bran porridge with butter

 Tea and rye bread with butter and cucumber

 Boiled potatoes with minced meat sauce, some marinated cucumber and boiled beetroot

We took the train to go and visit my boyfriend’s family for Yule. I kind of feel that this took the entire day, as the train ride took almost 4 hours + the car ride after that. Estonian train system is a bit funky. We bought the tickets early, because we figured that more people would be using the trains near the holidays. Big was our surprise that the ticket didn’t actually guarantee us a seat, instead the seats were given out by first come first serve basis. I was pretty annoyed, because I feel that I am far too old to spend 3 hours sitting on the train floor. What’s the use of buying the tickets early then at all? We were not the only people upset over the matter, I heard quite many people grumbling about this. Thankfully I noticed some younger women who had conveniently occupied their neighbouring seats with their bags and since they weren’t reserving the seats for someone else, I kindly asked them to remove their stuff, so we could sit down.

Then there was the issue that we almost got off at the wrong stop, because we thought we had to switch trains. Which apparently we didn’t 😀 The confusion came from the fact that when my boyfriend made the reservations, he was given two separate tickets: one from Tallinn to Tartu on train (let’s say) number 336 (I don’t remember the actual numbers) and then from Tartu to Sangaste on train 17. One would assume then that had to switch trains in Tartu, but apparently, the train conveniently changed its number in the Tartu region. How were we supposed to know something like that? It didn’t display this info anywhere in the train as far as we could see. There was no information about any of this, nor did I hear an announcement. Thankfully we panicked when we got off the train in Tartu, because there was no other train to get on to, so we jumped back on the train and managed to find conductor, who looked at us funny and told us that we were in fact on the correct train and no transfer was necessary. Had we been a few seconds too late with getting back on the train we would have been stranded in Tartu and that would have been a hassle. Honestly, Elron, your train systems suck salty bull balls. EUGH!

Later, when we finally reached our destination, people laughed at us for not knowing that we wouldn’t have reserved seats and that were on the correct train, but they use the train all the time whilst for me it was only the third time ever to use the (new) train in Estonia and the previous times I bought a first class ticket that did reserve me a seat and only ever went until Tartu, so couldn’t have known about the number changes. I kind of figured that the regular ticket class would still reserve me a seat like when I buy a ticket for a bus ride, I just wouldn’t have that much comfy space as they have in first class.

Well this concludes my misadventures in Estonia-land for today.

Leave a Reply

