Yule celebrations and drunk people being idiots… 24-25. Dec 2016

24. December

 Coffee and porridge

 Yule dinner: blood sausages, pork schnitzels, boiled potatoes with cream sauce, sauerkraut, meat rolls

 Coffee and delicious delicious cake

Yule celebrations were fun this year. During the day, we helped to decorate the party rooms and I decorated a whole bunch of gingerbread cookies. In the evening, there was a huge feast and then Jõuluvana came and brought everyone gifts. Jõuluvana was awesome, he had an actual long white beard and awesome boots 😀

Sadly, the very end of the evening turned sour for me, as I got upset at some drunk people acting very rudely and then drunk people driving. Unbelievable! Apparently drunk driving is very common with some people in that part of Estonia. I ended up having words with some of them in the middle of the night, but it was no use, as they sat behind the wheel anyway. In hindsight, I should have just confiscated their car keys, but I was too sleepy back then to come up with that idea.

25. December

 Potato salad and coffee

 More of this amazing cake

 Berry jelly with ice cream. The family we were visiting has an interesting Yule tradition to always make jelly as a dessert.

 Berry gummies that smelled bad and tasted awful. No one in the car wanted to eat them.

 A ham and eggs baguette from a gas station

I didn’t sleep too well, because the room was too hot, plus I was super upset over the drunk drivers. I was in a pissy mood the entire day and had real trouble holding myself back so I wouldn’t start picking fights with people over the drunken driving. I kind of felt that they’d just laugh in my face and make me feel even more crap, because of my inability to hold a proper debate. I always end up babbling and forgetting what I want to say, so it wouldn’t have been any use anyway.

We got back to Tallinn very late at night, because people kept stalling our departure with random crap like going to the sauna in the middle of the day etc. I was annoyed to say the least, but eventually we got back home and gosh, there is no place like home. I think I calmed down instantly when I stepped through the door and then had the best sleep ever in my own bed.

2 thoughts on “Yule celebrations and drunk people being idiots… 24-25. Dec 2016

Leave a Reply

