Too much rice and violence in films… 9. February 2017

 Fried potatoes

 Pistachio and Macarons ice cream that was delicious

 Rice with ham and soy sauce

 Some meat pastries I shared with my boyfriend; rice with tuna and Chinese cabbage. Also, had a cup of coffee.

We watched “John Wick” in the evening, because boyfriend has been excited about the sequel and I hadn’t seen the first one yet. I was a bit sceptical about whether I could stomach the movie as it is quite violent, but it was alright. I really liked the movie a lot. There is something really cool about the idea of an assassin’s reputation being so good that not even the police dare to fuck with him xD

We have also been watching the first season of “Westworld,” which I enjoy a lot despite it being bloodier than I am usually comfortable with when it comes to people gutting each other.

It’s weird with me and violence in movies. Some of my favourite ever movies are quite violent. Take for instance “Alien” (and the sequels). It’s a rather violent movie with body horror elements, but I don’t mind it all that much. I’ve come to the realisation that violence doesn’t bother me as much when it takes place in a fantasy setting. It perhaps doesn’t feel as real when it’s an orc gutting a man or a bunch of elves slashing at each other or some monster hibernating in a human corpse, but when it’s two guys in a “realistic” (be it the streets of New York or the imaginary wild west space in “Westworld” even) setting shooting or beating each other, then somehow to me it feels more real and it’s harder for me to watch. Of course, it also depends how graphicly the violence is shown I guess. I twitched and groaned in several places during both “John Wick” and “Westworld” where knives were used in a fight in the former or sawing off an android’s head in the latter.

Anyhow, what’s your favourite movies and how do you feel about graphic violence in movies?

3 thoughts on “Too much rice and violence in films… 9. February 2017

  1. mltrautz@yahoo.com says:

    Ok, I have to comment on the food, not the violence which is great only when in movies. I make a dish with ham and potatoes and I always complain when people add salt. Ham is SALTY, and here you are adding soy sauce!?! But now I am intrigued and might just try it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • annika says:

      One of the reasons why I decided to steam that ham together with rice was that it felt too salty for a sandwich. Since rice is pretty absorbent, it took a lot of the saltiness away from the ham, but altogether it was a bit bland tasting, so I added a dash of soy sauce for extra taste. I usually use a mild tasting soy sauce too, so it didn’t make it all too salty again. I think regular soy sauce would have been a bit too much.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

