Oops… 18-24 April 2016

Things happened. Well nothing really happened, I guess, but I was stressed and tired and somehow forgot to take photos about half of the things I ate, so I’ll just post some snippets from the past week. Just the prettier pictures, because who needs 4 photos of barley porridge in a row anyway, am I right?

Boyfriend had surgery on his broken hand on Tuesday and he is now about 0,001% Iron Man. The day was awful for me, because I worried about him and it didn’t help that he had to stay overnight at the hospital (originally he was supposed to be home the same day) and then my mom told me about the awful things that had happened to my little brother during his ice-skating practices, which left me even more upset and shaken, so I ended up having a full blown panic attack on my way home from the ice rink. I think it’s one of the worst I’ve ever had… 😦

The rest of the week felt like recovering from the panic attack. I slept a lot and listened to a lot of interesting podcasts. I also started a bit of a spring cleaning. I dug out and sorted out all my craft and art things and placed them to a more reachable shelf so I didn’t have to dig around for them when I finally needed them again. It’s been calm the rest of the week and I’m going to try and get myself on track again.

Setbacks like these feel harsh, as if you have failed, but they are just setbacks. It doesn’t mean one should give up after a relapse, just try again.

On to the food:

 Beef pasta and salad

I finally made this Polish sour rye soup called Żurek Wielkanocny. It was super tasty. The recipe can be found here if you are interested. I will definitely make this again in the future.

 Ugli fruit. This is an interesting hybrid of a grapefruit (or sometimes pomelo), an orange and a tangerine. It tasted really great, but it was rather on the expensive side, so not sure if I can buy it again in the near future or not.

 Sapporo Poteto Tsubutsubu Bejitaberu veggie potato chips. I really liked this for their nice mildly salty taste.

 Pancakes

 Avocado goes well with pancakes

 Quark pastry

 Turkey chili with rice and sour cream

 Black currant flavoured zefirs, one regular and one covered in milk chocolate

 I had a chocolate ice cream and boyfriend had a zefir ice cream. I was hesitant to get the zefir ice-cream, because I thought it might be too sweet, but surprisingly it had a very nice mild taste instead.

 A bagel with tuna salad and a cappuccino

 LOOK Gaufrette Black Cacao chocolate wafers. These were good.

 Garlic mashed potatoes with cucumber, radish and cottage cheese salad + some milk

Oh and my thesis is, for now, on hold. I’ll do it one day. Just not right now.
I’m trying to not beat myself up over it, but it’s hard. At the same time, I don’t really care and feel a tremendous relief that I postponed it… I really didn’t want to do it and it just screwed with my head so much every time I tried. So it’s a relief and still a constant guilty nagging at the back of my head. What a confusing feeling.

I failed this, so I will try to be good at something else for a change. Try, emphasis on try.

2 thoughts on “Oops… 18-24 April 2016

Leave a Reply

